books like diary of a wimpy kid

Books Like Diary of a Wimpy Kid

With a staggering 15+ books in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, four critically acclaimed movies, it is no brainer as to why the kids everywhere can not get enough of these stories. It seems like finding the best books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid would be an easy feat, but with so many great books for kids out there, things can get overwhelming quickly.

Jeff Kinney’s Diary of a Wimpy Kid has done something extraordinary, something that a book has not done in a very long time. It has captured the minds of the middle-grade audience like no other series has. When my nephew came to me and begged my wife and me to take him to see the movie during its debut night back in, at that point, he had read all the books that were out multiple times. I was curious to see what this hype was all about. Sure, I was part of my generation’s book craze when Harry Potter hit the bookshelves, and as I watched Diary of a Wimpy Kid in a packed theatre full of middle graders and their parents, I felt like a kid again. Soon after the showing, I had read through all of the published books and was loving it! This led me down a rabbit hole of other books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid. It was not hard to find an excellent showcase of books either; all I needed to do was look through my nephew’s little library of books he had shoved in a sagging bookshelf.

If you or your kid has finished every title in the series and aren’t quite sure where to turn, then I recommend giving the following books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid a go, you won’t regret it!

My Top 20 Books Like Diary of a Wimpy Kid

diary of a wimpy kid

#1: Diary of a 6th Grade Ninja by Marcus Emerson

“I bought this book for my 11 years old son because he didn’t like to read at all! So I was looking for a book that can atrack him and keep him reading and that’s ecxactly what happen. Now he likes reading and enjoys reading fiction books.”

“Bought this as one of the first e-books on new Kindle Fire for my 7-year-old. I was worried at first that it would be too advanced for him. He struggled on a few of the words, but the book was so funny, he had even my 11-year-old laughing. We will have to get the rest of the series when he finishes reading this one.”

Why it’s like Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

My name is Chase Cooper, and I’m a 6th grade ninja. It’s my first day at a different school and the only person I know is my cousin, Zoe (but she might be a little too cool for me). I was just another scrawny kid until a group of ninjas recruited me into their clan. It was a world of trouble I wasn’t prepared for, which is why I kept this diary (or “chronicle” as my dad would call it) – to warn other kids about the dangers of becoming a ninja. They say history is destined to repeat itself… well, not if I can help it.

Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians

#2: Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians by Brandon Sanderson

“As a huge fan of Brandon’s adult work, I was very happy to find he had written a series for younger readers as these books have become bedtime stories for my 9 Year old boy, who loves them asking to be read Alcatraz every night. I’m surprised they have been published as long as they have as I had not heard of them before.”

“Brandon Sanderson is an excellent author. I enjoy all his writings. This book is for kids and my kids enjoyed it thoroughly. Highly recommended.”

Why it’s like Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

On his thirteenth birthday, foster child Alcatraz Smedry gets a bag of sand in the mail-his only inheritance from his father and mother. He soon learns that this is no ordinary bag of sand. It is quickly stolen by the cult of evil Librarians who are taking over the world by spreading misinformation and suppressing truth. Alcatraz must stop them, using the only weapon he has: an incredible talent for breaking things.

fablehaven

#3: FableHaven by Brandon Mull

“A magical book for both boys and girls from age 10 -14, although I also loved it while reading it to my 10 year old son. It’s the traditional good v. evil battle, and very well written with some great unexpected twists. I can recommend it both as an English teacher of age 11+ students and as a mother of 2 boys who loved it.”

“decided to give this book a try, glad i did , interesting story ,sweeps you along on an amazing journey,a good fantasy book,i have already got book two on its way.”

Why it’s like Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

For centuries mystical creatures of all description were gathered into a hidden refuge called Fablehaven to prevent their extinction. The sanctuary survives today as one of the last strongholds of true magic. Enchanting? Absolutely. Exciting? You bet. Safe? Well, actually, quite the opposite.

Kendra and her brother, Seth, have no idea that their grandfather is the current caretaker of Fablehaven. Inside the gated woods, ancient laws keep relative order among greedy trolls, mischievous satyrs, plotting witches, spiteful imps, and jealous fairies. However, when the rules get broken — Seth is a bit too curious and reckless for his own good — powerful forces of evil are unleashed, and Kendra and her brother face the greatest challenge of their lives. To save their family, Fablehaven, and perhaps even the world, Kendra and Seth must find the courage to do what they fear most.

books like dairy of a wimpy kid: wonder

#4: Wonder by R.J. Palacio

“This is an amazing book and I know I will revisit it. What an inspiration Auggie Pullman is. I like the way the story unfolds using the different perspectives of people who he has touched and love the way it pulls on the heartstrings and evokes empathy. I will share this with my little girl when she’s a little bit older because I think it teaches the importance of kindness beautifully.”

“ABSOLUTELY AMAZING BOOK!!! Please disregard all reviews less than 5 stars! This book should be required reading for every human being who lives on the planet! I’m a 54 year old grandfather who served in the Marine Corps (just for a little context).”

Why it’s like Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

books like diary of a wimpy kid: the lightning thief

#5: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

“I knew of the series because of the movies being released and being a big Harry Potter fan, similar genres. When my son and I finished the HP series we went looking for something else. The Percy series really hit the spot. No spoilers for the story, but the book also made my son curious about mythology.”

“In my opinion, I think this book was good. In the book, The Lightning Thief, it talks about the son of Poseidon being at school. The son, Percy Jackson, got attacked by his teacher which is a monster. Then the son of Poseidon went to a camp. Then he went on a quest. Then he went on a quest. Percy Jackson went through many obstacles in his way like monsters.”

Why it’s like Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

After getting expelled from yet another school for yet another clash with mythological monsters only he can see, twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is taken to Camp Half-Blood, where he finally learns the truth about his unique abilities: He is a demigod, half human, half immortal. Even more stunning: His father is the Greek god Poseidon, ruler of the sea, making Percy one of the most powerful demigods alive. There’s little time to process this news. All too soon, a cryptic prophecy from the Oracle sends Percy on his first quest, a mission to the Underworld to prevent a war among the gods of Olympus.

#6: Ranger’s Apprentice bt John Flanagan

“I am 8 years old and have not been able to put this book down for a second.
The story was really exciting… I really liked the main characters, Will and Halt as well as Baron Arald and Horace.
I loved the Harry Potter books, and although this book doesn’t really have magic (except an invisible cloak) this was a really good read.”

“I have the next 2 in the series which I will be reading next and hoping to enjoy as much as this one. My 2 boys aren’t old enough for these yet but I will be recommending them to them soon as I think this is a great book for teenagers.”

Why it’s like Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

They have always scared him in the past—the Rangers, with their dark cloaksand shadowy ways. The villagers believe the Rangers practice magic that makes them invisible to ordinary people. And now 15-year-old Will, always small for his age, has been chosen as a Ranger’s apprentice. What he doesn’t yet realize is that the Rangers are the protectors of the kingdom. Highly trained in the skills of battle and surveillance, they fight the battles before the battles reach the people. And as Will is about to learn, there is a large battle brewing. The exiled Morgarath, Lord of the Mountains of Rain and Night, is gathering his forces for an attack on the kingdom. This time, he will not be denied…

books like diary of a wimpy kid: beyonders

#7: Beyonders by Brandon Mull

“Book arrived in excellent condition . My 12 yr old is so happy! This was a very big surprise for Christmas. Thank you.”

“My daughter is a huge fan of Brandon Mull and the Beyonders these books were great and she loved them as much as Fabelhaven and Candy Shop Wars.”

Why it’s like Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

Jason tumbles into a quest to save a magical in this #1 New York Times bestselling start to Brandon Mull’s Beyonders fantasy series.

Jason Walker has often wished his life could be a bit less predictable—until a routine day at the zoo ends with Jason suddenly transporting from the hippo tank to a place unlike anything he’s ever seen. In the past, the people of Lyrian welcomed visitors from the Beyond, but attitudes have changed since the wizard emperor Maldor rose to power. The brave resistors who opposed the emperor have been bought off or broken, leaving a realm where fear and suspicion prevail.

In his search for a way home, Jason meets Rachel, who was also mysteriously drawn to Lyrian from our world. With the help of a few scattered rebels, Jason and Rachel become entangled in a quest to piece together the word of power that can destroy the emperor and learn that their best hope to find a way home will be to save this world without heroes.

books like diary of a wimpy kid: orbiting jupiter

#8: Orbiting Jupiter by Gary D. Schmidt

“This was a quick read, suitable for young teens. It is truly a great book that covers a trouble youth, foster parenting, and how a loving family can change things.”

“I love Gary Schmidt’s writing. This particular work has a bit less of his trademark humor, but wonderfully captures a time, place, and a set of characters your heart goes out to. It doesn’t pull any punches about life’s struggles, and all the terrible things that can prevent the best intentioned people from helping a boy make the best of the bad hand he was dealt.”

Why it’s like Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

The two-time Newbery Honor winner Gary D. Schmidt delivers the shattering story of Joseph, a father at thirteen, who has never seen his daughter, Jupiter. After spending time in a juvenile facility, he’s placed with a foster family on a farm in rural Maine. Here Joseph, damaged and withdrawn, meets twelve-year-old Jack, who narrates the account of the troubled, passionate teen who wants to find his baby at any cost. In this riveting novel, two boys discover the true meaning of family and the sacrifices it requires.

books like diary of a wimpy kid: jinxed

#9: Jinxed by Amy McCulloch

“Really enjoyed this book. With all the current controversy of people glued to their mobile phones, this takes it to the next level with robotic pet assistants planning and aiding your life. Set in a futuristic Toronto it enters the fray on class and race with the affordabilty and availability of the myriad of robotic pets. Add to this a gripping storyline and you have a fantastic and exciting book. Can’t wait to read the sequel.”

“Thank you to NetGalley, Amy McCulloch, and Sourcebooks Kids for the opportunity to read Jinxed in exchange for an honest review.”

Why it’s like Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

Lacey Chu has always dreamed of working as an engineer for MONCHA, the biggest tech firm in the world and the company behind the “baku”―a customizable “pet” with all the capabilities of a smartphone. But when Lacey is rejected by the elite academy that promises that future, she’s crushed.

One night, Lacey comes across the broken form of a highly advanced baku. After she repairs it, the cat-shaped baku she calls Jinx opens its eyes and somehow gets her into her dream school. But Jinx is different than any other baku she’s ever seen…He seems real.

As Lacey settles into life at school, competing with the best students in a battle of the bakus that tests her abilities, she learns that Jinx is part of a dangerous secret. Can Lacey hold on to Jinx and her dreams for the future?

books like diary of a wimpy kid: crime travelers

#10: Crime Travelers: Brainwashed by Paul Aertker

“I was looking for a book for my 12 year old daughter who had hit a dry spell with engaging books she was willing to read to the end. A friend recommended this so I bought it. I thought I’d take a peek and see if it might appeal to my daughter before giving it to her. I couldn’t put it down.”

“I liked this book personally because it is a mix of… Emotions? I would recommend this book for a mature 9 year old and up”

Why it’s like Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

While sleeping on the roof of his father’s hotel, thirteen-year-old Lucas Benes finds a baby alone and learns that the Good Company has restarted its profitable kidnapping business.

Brainwashed (Crime Travelers #1) tracks the secret urban adventures of the New Resistance, a network of international teenage spies. Headquartered in Las Vegas’s posh Globe Hotel, the New Resistance sends its Tier One kids to Paris on its biggest mission to date. Lucas leads a group of friends through the hotspots of Paris—from the catacombs to the Eiffel tower—in an all-out effort to sabotage a brainwashing ceremony that could potentially turn them all into “Good” kids.

books like diary of a wimpy kid: new kid

#11: New Kid by Jerry Craft

“The art work, the microaggressions, the freezing sports moments, the “Mean Streets of Uptown” book truth- this story contains so much truth and heart and will stick with me for awhile. This is a must have for middle school shelves!”

“Jerry Craft visited my daughter’s school a few months before this book was released. My daughter couldn’t wait for it to be released, asking almost daily how much longer until we would get it.”

Why it’s like Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

books like diary of a wimpy kid: the wild robot

#12: The Wild Robot by Peter Brown

“For as long as I can remember, I–like the author–have been obsessed with robots, even more with robots interacting with the natural world in some bizarre capacity. So when I saw this novel, I couldn’t wait to read it. Luckily, my lovely wife gifted it to me for Christmas, so here we are, me having read it.”

“When I bought this I thought it was a picture book so I was a little shocked when it arrived. But my six-year old son and I decided to give it a go and were both so happy we did. This is a fantastic story. Beautifully written. I was as hooked as my son. Thank you Peter Brown. We have the sequel on pre-order!”

Why it’s like Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

Can a robot survive in the wilderness? When robot Roz opens her eyes for the first time, she discovers that she is all alone on a remote, wild island. She has no idea how she got there or what her purpose is–but she knows she needs to survive. After battling a violent storm and escaping a vicious bear attack, she realizes that her only hope for survival is to adapt to her surroundings and learn from the island’s unwelcoming animal inhabitants.

As Roz slowly befriends the animals, the island starts to feel like home–until, one day, the robot’s mysterious past comes back to haunt her.

From bestselling and award-winning author and illustrator Peter Brown comes a heartwarming and action-packed novel about what happens when nature and technology collide.

books like diary of a wimpy kid: pax

#13: Pax by Sara Pennypacker

“I’m an almost 60 year old man. My wife bought this book from because I love foxes. It’s a beautifully written story. Have a box of tissues nearby. It has a proper ending. I won’t say anything else about the story other than I enjoyed the journey immensely.”

“Bought it for my 10 yr old. Both me and my son loved the book a lot. Fantastic narration about relationships, courage, kindness. I loved the interaction between Vola and Peter. The characters inspired each other. And Pax was awesome too.. I had great time explaining some great literature like “Two but not Two” to my son. My son picked this as his school reading project and made a gift and greeting card for Peter to cheer him up!!”

Why it’s like Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

Pax and Peter have been inseparable ever since Peter rescued him as a kit. But one day, the unimaginable happens: Peter’s dad enlists in the military and makes him return the fox to the wild.

At his grandfather’s house, three hundred miles away from home, Peter knows he isn’t where he should be—with Pax. He strikes out on his own despite the encroaching war, spurred by love, loyalty, and grief, to be reunited with his fox.

Meanwhile Pax, steadfastly waiting for his boy, embarks on adventures and discoveries of his own…

books like diary of a wimpy kid: scary stories for young foxes

#14: Scary Stories for Young Foxes by Christian McKay Heidicker

“Lovely book. Bought this to read to my young foxes and it was so good once they would fall asleep, I would read ahead just to find out what would happen at the end of a tale. We all loved every bit of this book and when the book was finished we all wanted more. Great read.”

“Little Foxes reads like a charming, scary, “Oh, no. What will happen next?” fairy tale. I enjoyed every moment, couldn’t wait to get to the end, read faster, loved the ending, then regretted reading it so fast. So I had to go back and read it again. It was just as good the second time. A great book for kids and adults of all ages.”

Why it’s like Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

The haunted season has arrived in the Antler Wood. No fox kit is safe.

When Mia and Uly are separated from their litters, they discover a dangerous world full of monsters. In order to find a den to call home, they must venture through field and forest, facing unspeakable things that dwell in the darkness: a zombie who hungers for their flesh, a witch who tries to steal their skins, a ghost who hunts them through the snow… and other things too scary to mention.

Featuring eight interconnected stories and sixteen hauntingly beautiful illustrations, Scary Stories for Young Foxes contains the kinds of adventures and thrills you love to listen to beside a campfire in the dark of night. Fans of Neil Gaiman, Jonathan Auxier, and R. L. Stine have found their next favorite book.

books like diary of a wimpy kid: trapped in esrever

#15: Trapped in Esrever: Alex vs Sandman by Penn Brooks

“This is the second Penn Brooks children’s book I’ve read, and I love the sense of humor and goofiness infused into his stories! This particular story is based on the classic premise of “be careful what you wish for”, as the main character finds that his idea of the “perfect” world he thought he wanted might not be that great after all. I like the funny little illustrations included throughout too, definitely helps keep the readers interested! Well written and definitely worth the price tag!”

“I’m still sickened over all the sweets in Esrever. Ha ha! This book brings to mind the saying, “Be careful what you wish for…” I like how Alex would see the things his mom was right about, even though he was in a place that was contrary to what he was taught. I’m looking forward to seeing how my granddaughter likes it once I have her read it. I’m pretty sure she’ll be entertained and reinforce some good habits at the same time. :)”

Why it’s like Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

My name’s Alex and I’m not from around here. When I first woke up in Esrever County, I discovered a world completely opposite of home. Rules were optional. Books were off limits. Chocolate, video games and slacking off were encouraged. You get the idea… it was awesome!

But there was one catch: the creatures and legendary figures I always read about were not only real and present in Esrever, but were opposite of the way I knew them. When the Sandman creeps into my life, he’s determined to turn my dream vacation into a horrifying nightmare!

books like diary of a wimpy kid: trapped in a video game

#16: Trapped in a Video Game by Dustin Brady

“Our night-time routine with our daughter and son (ages 7 & 5), is to read a book, watch a couple YouTube videos, talk about our day, and go to bed. This is the first book that had my kids begging to skip videos and talking time to just read a few more chapters. It’s intense, but not scary, and exciting but not overstimulating, and my kids area always anxious to hear what is going to happen next.”

“My 9 (almost 10 year old) LOVES this book! He hasn’t been much of a reader but this is the FIRST book he reads without prodding. He talks about it a lot and always tells me what happened. The chapters aren’t too long or overwhelming for early chapter readers. An easy read. It’s refreshing to find a fun, adventure book without a lot of “dark” themes. A rare find!”

Why it’s like Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

Jesse Rigsby hates video games – and for good reason. You see, a video game character is trying to kill him. After getting sucked in the new game Full Blast with his friend Eric, Jesse starts to see the appeal of vaporizing man-size praying mantis while cruising around by jet pack. But pretty soon, a mysterious figure begins following Eric and Jesse, and they discover they can’t leave the game. If they don’t figure out what’s going on fast, they’ll be trapped for good!

books like diary of a wimpy kid: dogman

#17: Dog Man by Dav Pilkey

“My 7 year old daughter absolutely loves this book. Despite having a high level of reading ability, she’s been resistant to reading for pleasure. This book has snapped her out of her rut and brought enjoyment back to reading. She tore through this book in one evening and laughed nearly the whole time. The grammar is not the best, which bothers me, but this is a book that keeps my daughter’s interest so I’m willing to overlook it.”

“My son loves this Author. This is a funny comic strip ttpe of book and has some flip-o-ramas that my son (10) likes to do. He is at the age where some things he finds to kid-ish but he still loves all the series by this Author. Also has some pages where it teaches you to draw a couple different characters step-by-step. So, pretty cool book overall.
Hardback, and lots of vibrant colored pictures from front to back of this book! Attached pictures My son can’t wait till part 2 comes out! :)”

Why it’s like Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

George and Harold have created a great hero who digs into deception, claws after crooks, and rolls over robbers. When Greg the police dog and his cop companion are injured on the job, a life-saving surgery changes the course of history, and Dog Man is born. With the head of a dog and the body of a human, this heroic hound has a real nose for justice. But can he resist the call of the wild to answer the call of duty?

books like diary of a wimpy kid: epic zero

#18: Epic Zero by R.L. Ullman

“Epic Zero is awesome! Enough said but I will elaborate. My 7 year old son is in amour with this series, we red through the entire 3 books in two weeks he couldn’t get enough. He would beg not to go to bed and keep reading…”Just a little more mommy please!” I found it this enjoyable to read with my child, I love super hero myself and together we were both excited to keep reading the story. The only issue I face now is a sad child that has no more books in the series, I hope there will be more to come! This is the first book that my son has said he is going to read this entire book again. He absolutely can’t get enough of Epic Zero…Please write more!”

“My son and I had been reading the Harry Potter book series for the past two years, and after finishing, we’re looking for our next adventure. I came across Epic Zero, and ordered the box set. My son and I are through the first two books already, eagerly anticipating the third and last book. Elliott Harkness is a great character, along with all the friends, heroes, and villains he meets along the way. I highly recommend this box set to all!”

Why it’s like Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

All Elliott Harkness wants is to be a superhero. His parents are superheroes. His older sister is a superhero. Heck, even his dog is a superhero. But Elliott has a problem—he’s a “Zero”—which is super-speak for powerless! So, while his family is off fighting crime, Elliott is stuck muddling through middle school.

But when danger strikes and Elliott is Earth’s last hope, will he find the power to be the epic hero he’s always wanted to be—or will he always be just an Epic Zero? Follow Elliott’s hilarious journey to fit in with his family, save the world, and make it home for dinner.

books like diary of a wimpy kid: scary school

#19: Scary School by Derek the Ghost

“My 4th graders can’t get enough of Scary School! It is hilarious. Many of them have started writing their own “scary school” stories. A big hit with everyone, but especially my 4th grade boys.”

“This book was amazingly great because mr. Wolfbark died and mr. Spider eyes was eaten by his own wife and dr. Dragonbreath ate almost all of his kids. Everyone chose lollipops at the ghoul games and ms. Fangs magically ate a lollipop and her fang magically grew back.”

Why it’s like Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

You think your school’s scary? Get a load of these teachers: Ms. Fang, an 850-year-old vampire Dr. Dragonbreath, who just might eat you before recess Mr. Snakeskin—science class is so much more fun when it’s taught by someone who’s half zombie Mrs. T—break the rules and spend your detention with a hungry Tyrannosaurus rex! Plus Gargoyles, goblins, and Frankenstein’s monster on the loose The world’s most frighteningly delicious school lunch And The narrator’s an eleven-year-old ghost! Join Charles “New Kid” Nukid as he makes some very Scary friends—including Petunia, Johnny, and Peter the Wolf—and figures out that Scary School can be just as funny as it is spooky!

#20: The 44 Rules of Amateur Sleuthing by Jamie Nash

“What a great read! While it definitely needs the steady hand of an editor, this middle-grade story following the super kid detective Mandrake and his small cadre of friends is chock full of laughs, alliteration and great dialogue. Highly recommended.”

“Really fun, well crafted story! I loved the premise of the book with the “Rules”. I immediately gave it to my daughter and she loved it too. Can’t wait to see what else this author writes. Top notch!”

Why it’s like Diary of a Wimpy Kid:

Twelve-year-old Mandrake Mandrake is the world’s greatest detective. Nobody cares. The cops take credit for all the mysteries he solves, his grandmother is more interested in his “suspect” Algebra grades, and he lives in the shadow of his parents — the most feared supervillains in the history of supervillainry! But respect is on the upswing when an all-star team of gumshoes enlists Mandrake to help crack an impossible case — how did Mandrake’s dastardly father escape from an inescapable super-prison? And what evil scheme is he hatching now?

Mandrake has never met his infamous dad. In fact, he’s spent his entire life trying to distance himself from his father’s dark legacy. But when the other master detectives are captured inside the super prison and all of its criminal occupants are unleashed on the city, Mandrake must save the day by doing the very thing he fears most – trying to understand the twisted brain of the evil mastermind father who ruined his life.

S.M. Morgan
shane@toomuchtowrite.com
No Comments

Post A Comment